I treated myself to two magazines -- Grit and Mary Jane's Farm.  I didn't know what a treat it would be.
In GRIT was a recipe for Old Fashioned Sandwich bread.  I love making bread and this recipe was a little intriguing as it was a mix it one day, put it in the fridge for 24 hours, and then finally do the kneading, rising, and baking the next day type recipe.  UMMMM...it came out wonderfully!!!  2 big SOFT loaves.  I'm quite sure that bread does not constitute a well balanced meal, but nothing else looks appealing.  Jay's hard at work this weekend so will try to save him some.
Mary Jane's Farm magazine surprised me.  I just didn't know that there was a magazine like that out there.  There website was a treat, too.  I think I'm going to have to join up with the group in Desmet this summer when they do the Laura Ingalls Wilder thing.  Have a look!  http://www.farmgirlsontheloose.blogspot.com/

My third treat this weekend came from a squirrel.  Jay has a platform feeder that he fills with sunflower seeds for the birds -- not the squirrels.  Lately, he hung a bird feeder from a shepherd's hook that is right next to the platform feeder.  As I was washing dishes, I noticed the squirrel in the platform birdfeeder and the other birdfeeder just a swingin.  Hmmm...maybe I better watch a moment.  Sure enough, a moment later that squirrel had stretched way out to reach the other birdfeeder.  And when he reached out, the hanging birdfeeder moved away from the platform feeder to the point that he was sprawled in air completely parallel to the ground.  Cute as can be.  (All in the eyes of the beholder!)



Leave a Reply.